Go Contents

How to Apply


  • Nationality: One of the 10 ASEAN member nations (Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, The Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam) or Republic of Korea
  • Born between 1994-2003 (Exceptions can be made depending on different circumstances and talent pool in each country)
  • Experience in making at least 2 short films, documentaries and/or other video works
  • Fluent in English * Official language for FLY2019: English
  • No disqualifications for overseas travel
  • No experience in any of the programs from Busan International Film Festival-Asian Film Academy (AFA)

Application Guidelines

  • Number of Finalists: 22 (2 finalists from each ASEAN member nation and Republic of Korea)
  • Application Method: E-mail Application
  • Depending on your nationality, please submit all the required documents and supporting materials to one of the organizations designated below.
    • Republic of Korea: Busan Film Commission / www.bfc.or.kr / fly@filmbusan.kr
    • Brunei Darussalam: Authority of Info-communications Technology Industry / www.aiti.gov.bn / johana.sumin@aiti.gov.bn
    • Cambodia: Cambodia Film Office, Cinema and Cultural Diffusion Department, Ministry of Culture and Fine Arts / cambodiafilm.gov.kh / info@cambodiafilm.gov.kh
    • Indonesia: Film Development Center, Ministry of Education and Culture/ http://pusbangfilm.kemdikbud.go.id / pusbangfilm@kemdikbud.go.id
    • Lao PDR: Lao Cinema Department, Ministry of Information, Culture and Tourism / www.doc.gov.la / nakhonebounmy@yahoo.com
    • Myanmar: Motion Picture Development Branch Office, Information and Public Relations Department, Ministry of Information / mmpe.myanmar@gmail.com
    • Philippines: Film Development Council of the Philippines / www.fdcp.ph / fellow@fdcp.ph
    • Thailand: Thailand Film Office, Department of Tourism, Ministry of Tourism and Sports / www.thailandfilmoffice.org / film@thailandfilmoffice.org
    • Vietnam: Vietnam Cinema Department, Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism / www.cucdienanh.vn / cucdienanh@fpt.vn
    • Malaysia (independent method) : 2 Finalists to be selected from the participants of the 4th Young Filmmakers Workshop. (For inquiries, please contact National Film Development Corporation (FINAS) / latihanperfileman@gmail.com)
    • Singapore (independent method) : 2 Finalists to be selected by the Singapore Film Commission (SFC). (For enquiries, please contact Singapore Film Commission (SFC) / at SFC@imda.gov.sg
  • Each organization will evaluate the documents and portfolios to select 2 finalists from each country, and will send the list to Busan Film Commission (AFCNet Secretariat).
  • Evaluation Process: Initial Evaluation (documents) → Secondary Evaluation (phone interviews and portfolios) * Each organization may conduct different methods of evaluation.

Required Documents for Application

  • Application Form (Click to download)
  • Cover Letter (Click to download) & Video of self-introduction (must be in English, 1-minute max) that include: motivation for application, self-introduction in relation to film work, and career plans in film industry
  • Portfolio: Video files of your past work examples for which you participated as a director, producer, cinematographer, editor, production designer or sound recorder/mixer

    * Prescribed forms can be downloaded from AFCNet / FLY2019 website, as well as the entry organizations’ websites as specified above.
    * All documents are required to be submitted via E-mail (portfolio(s) can be submitted either in the form of DVD(s) or E-mail with a downloadable web link).

Additional Information

  • Airfare, accommodation, meals and all types of education courses will be provided to all the selected trainees.
  • All the selected trainees must participate in all the courses of online pre-production.
  • 1 out of 2 Korean finalists will be a Busan resident.
  • Submitted documents are non-returnable.
  • If an applicant is proven to have made a false statement in the documents, the selection committee may revoke that person’s right to be selected as the finalist.


  • Busan Film Commission (AFCNet Secretariat)-Busan Asian Film School: fly@filmbusan.kr

ASEAN-ROK Film Community Programme

We Are Certain, We FLY